Breathe deep.

When entering a proper bicycle shop one should encounter the odors of Metal, rubber, and grease. For those of us who spend our days in such an environment these particular scents become a background noise of sorts. However, I’m reminded of them each morning when I enter the shop. Olfactory sense is a curious thing. I’ve heard that of the senses, the sense of smell is often the one that most engages with memory. Many mornings as I enter the shop and encounter these smells I experience a small tugging of nostalgia on the memory banks and feel a sense of place and familiarity . I know this scent pretty well and it agrees with me.

I’d love to walk into this bicycle shop someday:

 

One thought on “Breathe deep.

Leave a Reply

